Don’t eat that. Instead, write.

I tend to eat my stress, do you? Some smoke. Some drink or gnaw fingernails like I do (now I wear fake nails to control it) Some game. Some exercise obsessively, which is hard for me to imagine. I mean, who wants to do that??

Anyway.

overeating

But upon occasion, once upon a midnight dreary of long writing stints. Or two…

HealthySnacks-300x199

What I like to think I eat most of the time… (image healthysnackblog.com)

Others, like my dear husband, just don’t stress out much–or show it. And he doesn’t even internalize it, as in with ulcers and stuff…he is just a

dog hilarious

Another Chill Guy.

Chill Guy. Clearly not an ENFP personality type. More like an ESFJ or an ISFP, I dunno. Being an ENFP gives me a short attention span, what? A fairy…a dog sleeping…

Wish I could become like that Chill Type, but I’m can’t. I also once was slender; now not so much (and no, you don’t get a pic of the “current” me)

VeiledGirl me cropped

Weren’t we all like Twiggy in the 70’s? Proof that I was.

Writing and the sedentary life that accompanies it, along with a chronic pain & fatigue condition, do not help me achieve my necessary weight goals. BUT I must overcome!

Neither does a loooong visit from stress-inducing family members, God love ’em (and so do I, it’s just a long story

1557447_10153331461654677_209257374120507380_n

What’s a word-count, grandma? Me not care.

you do not want to read). But I must overcome!

Blogging is once again my warm-up-to-fiction today. I joined Jerry Jenkins’ Guild a couple of months ago and set goals for the first time in my writing life! And I am as of yesterday almost 6K behind the word-count goal I set. Possibly more…but who’s counting? AAAAAAAAH.

It’s bugging me. So while Papa (aka Chill Guy)  does Grandparent Duty, I’d better keep hitting these keys and GET ER DONE.

What keeps you from your writing goals? We cannot, I repeat cannot, let this stuff hinder us from finishing the manuscript. Because we all know that the book that’s never finished is never published–and never read. Righty? Right!

JonSnow msfinished regret

And we really, really don’t want this haunting us in the form of REGRET on our DEATHBEDS. Right?! Right!

Oh, crap. So I’d better make this short, huh? 

I found some gems courtesy of the magnificent & successful Neil Gaiman when I was warming up to my warm up.

So I will leave on the note of a wiser writer than I: 

“We who make stories know that we tell lies for a living. But they are good lies that say true things, and we owe it to our readers to build them as best we can. Because somewhere out there is someone who needs that story. Someone who will grow up with a different landscape, who without that story will be a different person. And who with that story may have hope, or wisdom, or kindness, or comfort. And that is why we write.” ~ Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book 

“…when people tell you something’s wrong or doesn’t work for them, they are almost always right. When they tell you exactly what they think is wrong and how to fix it, they are almost always wrong. (underlines added by me)

“Writing is flying in dreams. When you remember. When you can. When it works. It’s that easy.”http://www.elephantjournal.com/2013/02/neil-gaimans-8-rules-for-writing/

SO I grabbed a quick (healthy) sandwich and sparkling water, and NOT the other stuff.

And baby, I gotta go get my 1000–or three–in now.

1000 words eddiem

Shut up and write.

Get off of here and do yours, too.

Leave a Reply

